Skip to content

Is the War on Drugs a gateway drug?

April 8, 2012

Let me be straight right now. Having pot be as illegal as it is just pisses me off.  And I think most Americans agree that it should be de-criminalized – if not made legal outright.  The “War on Drugs” is not working and I think partially because the enforcers are spread too thin wiping up potheads.  It has been and continues to be a waste of money with an extremely low ROI.

Is pot a gateway?  If you consider that you can only get it by dealing with a criminal element who can gradually make stronger drugs available – yeah – it’s a gateway.  But if I could buy my pot at the local liquor store or neighborhood church, I would be subject to THEIR gradually desensitizing influence.  Part of what makes marijuana a gateway is its illegal status.

From → Common Sense

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

